mshollandsthoughts

A little bit of my thoughts and whats going on in the world and not just my head

my thoughts August 17, 2011

Filed under: Books,Family — mshollandsthoughts @ 10:05 am
Tags:

I really never thought this day would come at least I prayed it wouldn’t and it has. Ugh!!!! My baby girl is growing up. You think you prepare yourself for the change of life for your daughter but never in a million years thought I would be this emotional. My heart is broken to know that my daughter is not a baby anymore. You so want to put your kids in a bubble and make sure they don’t go through things but the reality is; this is a part of life. I know that she isn’t ready to grow up and if I could prevent her from becoming a woman I would. I am truly glad that we had talked about this and prepared her on how to take care of herself now that her body has changed.

If you are having a hard time dealing trying to talk to your daughter about puberty and the changes her body is going thru here is a great website that I looked at years ago. http://www.always.com/mom/

Also there is a book out that I purchased maybe two years ago because a co-worker told me about it. It’s about body hygiene for young woman.

The Care & Keeping of You: The Body Book for Girls (American Girl Library)  by Valorie Schaefer (Author), Norm Bendell (Illustrator)

There are tons of books out but I really liked this one because it always had pictures for pre teens.

Whats your story on talking to you daughter about puberty? Did you or your child have an embarrassing experience transitioning into adolescents?

 

2 Responses to “my thoughts”

  1. Awe I can understand, well kinda since I don’t have children. It is good that you had a talk with her so that she will know what to expect in the coming years. Yes she is growing up but she will never out grow her mom. Keep up the good work!


Leave a Reply

